Getting stuck in heavy traffic is one of the most frustrating experiences that many of us have to deal with on a regular basis. The sad part is that traffic doesn’t care about how much of a hurry we’re in. If there’s congestion in your area, you likely aren’t reaching your destination on time.
In search of a solution to the problem posed by gridlock, many of us turn to motorcycles. They can certainly help you cut down on the time you have to spend in traffic and they’re more accessible as well.
Before moving ahead with your motorcycle purchasing plans, it’s good to review the insurance laws related to them in North Carolina. Allow us at First State Insurance Advisors Inc. to tell you more about the state’s laws.
Do You Need Motorcycle Insurance in North Carolina?
Let’s get the most important question out of the way first. In the Tar Heel State, insurance is indeed a requirement if you want to drive a motorcycle.
According to the state’s motor vehicle law, liability insurance must be purchased by all motorcycle and motor scooter operators. You are also required to keep your insurance card with you whenever you hit the road.
What Happens if You Don’t Have Insurance as a Motorcycle Driver?
Purchasing insurance is a good idea because it protects you in the event of an accident, or your motorcycle possibly being vandalized or stole, but those aren’t the only reasons as the state’s DMV reminds residents.
Upon getting your first notice for an insurance lapse, you’ll be hit with a $50 fine. The second offense nets you a $100 fine and subsequent violations will cost you $150 each.
Also note that insurance providers in the state are required to report if coverage for a vehicle has been canceled or has lapsed for any reason. The insurance provider will send a report to the state’s DMV and you will be given a liability insurance termination notification. You’ll be given 10 days to respond to that notification.
Failing to respond and secure coverage again could lead to your license plate being revoked and you being hit with civil penalties. You’ll also have to pay a $50 restoration fee when you register your motorcycle again.
Motorcycle insurance can save you from all kinds of headaches if you’re a North Carolina resident. Make sure you have the policy you need by working with us at First State Insurance Advisors Inc. Contact us today and let’s get to work on crafting your plan.